Teaser Tuesdays #37 – April 26th

Teaser Tuesdays

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of A Daily RhythmTo play along just follow the rules below!

Rules:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page (I usually do a bit more than two)
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This morning I began continuing the The Mortal Instruments series with the fourth book, City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare.

My teaser:

6752378

 

Simon stared in horror. Huge wounds were appearing on the man’s torso. His head flew back, and blood sprayed from his mouth. He stopped screaming abruptly – and fell, as if the invisible hand had opened, releasing him. He hit the ground and broke apart like glass shattering into a thousand shining pieces that scattered themselves across the pavement.

– Chapter 3, page 55

2 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays #37 – April 26th

  1. I actually read about the first 40 pages of City of Bones when I just found it too much of a pain to get through. There were a few gaping plot holes (like that stick thing. If anything goes wrong aren’t they just able to go BAM and kill everyone with a rune or something) and the writing was quite frustrating (every wolf that showed up was labelled “bridled” and Jase or whatever his name was, I forgot, was always described as an “angel” and “golden” or something.) Anyway, I never got round to reading the next few books, but perhaps they get better?

    Like

    • Aww, sorry you didn’t end up liking it. I personally enjoy the series. However, I actually liked reading the prequel series, The Infernal Devices, a bit more than the original. Although I’m still working on the original, so I may change my mind. And the stele (or stick thing xD) allows them to draw runes on themselves and their weapons, but it doesn’t necessarily mean an immediate kill. It lets them wound demons, since if they attack them with normal weapons, demons can just heal themselves. If they’re attacked with a weapon with runes drawn on it, they don’t heal.
      And it’s true that Clare can be a bit repetitive with her adjectives, but I’ve come across that with multiple authors. It’s also true that Jace is said to be ‘inhumanly beautiful’ or whatever a lot of the time but again, I see that a lot in books, especially fantasy – where the love interest is described as completely ‘flawless’. I wish authors would give them a flaw or two so it seems more realistic, but I guess that’s why they call it fantasy, neh? xD In my personal opinion I do believe they get better as the series goes on, but obviously it’s up to you if you wanna give it another chance. If not, there’s always thousands of more books to read!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

