How I Read Books Tag

Another tag! Bet you can’t guess who tagged me? (That was sarcasm, btw…) As usual, it was my dear Emily! I do enjoy book tags…I just have a bad habit of not completing them in a decent amount of time from when I was tagged. Because she tagged me…three weeks ago, I believe? Heh…heh…


1. How do you find out about new books to read?
Mainly Goodreads, but after I started blogging it’s been more common for me to find books from other bloggers. Occasionally one will be recommended by a friend. If you’ve ever been to Barnes & Noble, you know how you get that little piece of paper after buying a book that gives you a few recommendations? Yeah, I would usually look up those too. If I hadn’t already owned/read them.

2. How did you get into reading?
Honestly I’m not quite sure. I remember reading books ever since I learned to read. My mom’s a big reader too, so maybe that had something to do with it.

3. How has your taste in books changed as you’ve gotten older?
Instead of reading solely middle-grade and young adult books, I’ve branched out to adult fiction, including murder mystery and the occasional romance book. I don’t mind books with more adult-themes now, as long as the plot and characters are good I’ll probably read anything. However, I still steer mainly toward fantasy-related plots.

4. How often do you buy books?
Not very often. The library is my best friend. I do usually wander into a used bookstore a few times a month, but I don’t always buy something. I have a list and if I don’t find a book on that list I don’t buy anything. There’s too much I own that I still haven’t read to continually be buying more books.

5. How did you get into Book reviewing?
Emily! I believe I was stalking her Goodreads (we’ve known each other for a long time so it’s not creepy…right? RIGHT?!) and saw that she had joined a group of book bloggers…or something like that. And so I found her blog and began reading it. I mentioned it to her and she peer pressured me into starting my own. I wasn’t sure at first…cause I never really reviewed books before. Even on Goodreads I would simply rate them with the stars, not actually write a review. But I’m glad I decided to participate to be a part of the book blogging community. I’ve met some awesome people along the way and I am even more involved with books than I was before.

6. How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?
I usually think about how it could have ended better, then I get over it. Sometimes I talk to myself…mostly it sounds something like, “Are you serious?! That’s stupid!” And, like Emily, I do a fair share of sighing.

7. How often do you take a “sneak peak” at the end of a book to see if there is a happy ending?
Once again, like Emily, I don’t do this to necessarily look for a happy ending, most of the time I’m just looking to see how many pages there are until I’m finished or something like that. Then I’ll see a spoiler phrase and kick myself later for it.

8. Who are you going to tag?
Anyone who wishes to participate! :)


Also, I wanted to say a quick thank you to all of my followers! I now have over 50. I’m honestly shocked because I feel like I’m just rambling half the time…and who wants to read my rambling? But I guess some people like that? Either way “THANK YOU!” And know that I really appreciate it! :)

Leave a Reply

J.J. Azar

Swashbuckling with words: A writer's journey on the Road to Authorship.

The Book Canaries

We read it so you might not have to.

Chocolate'n'Waffles

Tea, waffles, and lots of books

Home Town Girl Living in a Writers World

A girl wandering in life discovering it

The Tattooed Book Geek

Fantastical Book Reviews, Poetry & Awesomeness.

BUZZED REVIEWS

Thanks for reading!

the orang-utan librarian

welcome to the virtual library

Clockwork Bibliophile

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

The Galaxial Word

Book Reviews + Random Thoughts

Wonderfilled Reads

We're all mad about books here.

bingebox

Binge Worthy TV

Just Something About LynLyn

Ramblings About Anime, Manga, and Other Somethings…

Princessica of Books

powered by knowledge and good reads.

Utopian Boulevard

| The Preposterous Journey To Utopic Dreams & Fantasies

jenacidebybibliophile

Book Reviewer and Blogger

Panda's Stuff

Panda's books, films and shows. Stay tuned!

