Reading Habits Tag

Thanks a bunch to Analee from BookSnacks for tagging me! :)

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Yes. Most of the time I’ll be reading in a comfy rocking chair we have in our family room. My mom always tells me I make her sick, because sometimes I’ll subconsciously rock while reading and she gets motion sickness… xD But whenever I’m kicked out, because that’s where our main television is, I’ll read up in my room.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Bookmark. I have about twenty or so different ones. You could say I collect them, but I usually use one specific one for a long period of time. Right now I have one that has the metal head of a dog at one end and a bone at the other and it’s connected by a black string. It’s magnetic so you wrap it around and connect the bone to the dog.

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

I have to stop after a chapter, normally. Sometimes I’m able to read at work so I’ll  have to just stop reading and help a customer, but when I’m at home I usually always stop after a chapter. If a chapter is too long or I should be doing more…productive things I try to at least stop after a certain scene.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

I usually always have a cup of water with me, but I rarely ever eat when I read. Mostly because I use both hands to hold the book so it’s just uncomfortable if I’m trying to eat something. And, depending on what I’m eating, I’m usually on the messy side…^^;

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

None of the above. Both are too distracting. I like peace and quiet when I read. Occasionally, if I’m watching TV, I’ll mute it during commercials and read during that time. My siblings used to tease me about it…

6. One book at a time or several at once?

My answer is very similar to Analee’s. I used to be a strictly ‘one book at a time’ person, because if I ever read multiple I usually ended up zipping through the one I liked better and taking a lot longer on the other. But recently there’s just been so much I want to read that I’ve been branching out and reading two or three different ones at a time. It’s also because there are some series I can only read on my NOOK, because my library doesn’t have a physical copy, and since I occasionally get to read at work I like having a physical copy of a book with me.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

Since I prefer quiet when I read I enjoy reading at home the most but, as I mentioned, I’m able to read at work at times and I’ll also bring a book with me when I go on trips or even to the doctors so that I’ll have something to read while waiting. So both?

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently in my head. I don’t like reading out loud because I tend to read too fast and usually end up stumbling all over the words.

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I don’t skip entire pages but, like Analee, I’ll look ahead to see how far it is until the end of the chapter and something will catch my eye and I’ll end up reading a small section or phrase. And occasionally it happens to be a spoiler so I mentally kick myself.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

Nowadays I prefer keeping my books like new, but when I was younger I didn’t care so much. That’s why some of the books I’ve had forever aren’t the prettiest anymore. You should see my edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone…definitely not pretty. But I tell myself that they aren’t ruined, just loved :)

11. Do you write in your books?

No. I can’t…just no.

Thanks again for tagging me, Analee! <3 I tag anyone who enjoyed this tag and would like to do their own!

2 thoughts on “Reading Habits Tag

Leave a Reply

